Sunday, June 16, 2024

Ghana coach CK Akonnor names 32-man home-based players to begin preparations ahead of AFCON double-header

Ghana coach Charles “CK” Akonnor has announced a 32-man home-based squad to kick-start preparations for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations double-header against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe next month. 

The Black Stars gaffer has named the top performers in the country’s Premier and second-tier teams to begin preparations for the qualifying match in March.

Medeama stars Justice Blay and Rashid Nortey, Karela United striker Diawisie Taylor, Asante Kotoko goal poacher Kwame Poku as well as King Faisal arrowman Kwame Preprah are some of the the high-profile players named in the squad.

There are also places for Kotoko defensive left-back Ibrahim Moro and Ganiyu Ismail as well as Hearts of Oak centre-back Mohammed Alhassan.

Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Razak Abalora, Aduana Stars ace Joseph Addo, Medeama shot-stopper Eric Ofori Antwi and Elmina Sharks’ Bawa Lord Martey.

The Ghanaian gaffer is leaving no stone unturned amid fears the covid-19 restrictions could prevent several Europe-based stars to make the squad for the two qualifiers.

It’s a massive chance for the home-based players to stake a claim in the team and test the quality of the domestic league.

Goalkeepers: Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Bawa Lord Martey (Elmina Sharks), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC)

Central Defenders: Haruna Jamal Deen (Great Olympics), Yussif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko), Ganiyu Ismail (Asante Kotoko), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA), Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak)

Full Backs: Amoako Kwadwo (AshantiGold SC), Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Moro (Asante Kotoko), Dennis Korsah Akoumah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Midfielders: Justice Blay (Medeama SC), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Salifu Moro (Bechem United), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Michael Otou (Great Olympics), George Asamoah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Ben Acquah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Attacking Midfielders: Yaw Annor (AshantiGold SC), Salifu Ibrahim (Techiman Eleven Wonders), Maxwell Abbey (Great Olympics), Augustine Boakye (WAFA), Michael Agbekornu (Dreams FC)

Strikers: Kwame Pepprah (King Faisal), Diawusie Taylor (Karela United FC), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC), Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy), Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles